Epidemiology for Public Health Practice
Call Number: RA 651 .F686 2014
Publication Date: 2013-03-08
Now in its Fifth Edition, this best-selling text offers comprehensive coverage of all the major topics in introductory epidemiology. With extensive treatment of the heart of epidemiology--from study designs to descriptive epidemiology to quantitative measures--this reader-friendly text is accessible and interesting to a wide range of beginning students in all health-related disciplines. A unique focus is given to real-world applications of epidemiology and the development of skills that students can apply in subsequent course work and in the field. The Fifth Edition is a thorough revision with updated data throughout including: the top 10 leading causes of death, motor vehicle traffic death rates, mortality ratios, infant mortality rates, cancer deaths rates, tuberculosis incidence, life expectancy, incidence of AIDS, breast cancer death rates, tobacco consumption, dementia, suicide rates, unintentional injuries and much more.
Health Promotion and Wellness
Call Number: RA 427.8 .H4927 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-20
Health Promotion and Wellness is designed to provide health care providers with both the theoretical knowledge and practical skills they need to provide high-quality clinical preventive services. This unique resource is separated into two sections: The first section gives information on risks, ways providers can assess for risk and tools they can use to advise and help patients move forward. The second section is a tool kit with information, resources, tools and other items that can help the clinician provide evidence-based, patient-centered information to their patients. This accessible reference provide readers with the basic elements necessary to help their patients change their health behavior related to the most prevalent risk factors, and to serve as a springboard to keep pace with the latest evidence arising in the applied science of wellness, prevention and health promotion. INSIDE YOU'LL FIND: * Screening, prevention, health promotion and advising information and resources that will complement your routine care of the patients you serve * Instructions for how to appropriately use CPT codes for billing preventive services Become well-versed in prevention and health promotion approaches, purchase your copy today!
Introduction to Public Health
Call Number: RA 425 S28 2014
Publication Date: 2013-03-06
Introduction to Public Health, Fourth Edition offers a thorough, accessible overview of the expanding field of public health for students new to its concepts and actors. Written in engaging, nontechnical language, this best-selling text explains in clear terms the multi-disciplinary strategies and methods used for measuring, assessing, and promoting public health.Packed with illustrative real-world examples, this updated edition provides students with informative discussions of the current technical issues and practical obstacles facing public health practitioners and policymakers alike. Through coverage of new approaches to research and data collection, current best practices in the field, and the social and ethical challenges of devising public policy, Introduction to Public Health, Fourth Edition provides readers with a broad-reaching, practical framework for understanding the multifaceted forces and organizations of today's public health enterprise.
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook
Call Number: RT 48.6 A35 2014
Publication Date: 2013-02-13
The 10th edition of the Nursing Diagnosis Handbook makes formulating nursing diagnoses and creating individualized care plans a breeze. Updated with the most recent NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, this convenient reference shows you how to build customized care plans in three easy steps: assess, diagnose, plan. Authors Elizabeth Ackley and Gail Ladwig use Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) to guide you in creating care plans that include desired outcomes, interventions, patient teaching, and evidence-based rationales.
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing
Call Number: RC 440 .T693 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-06
Rely on the distinctive voice and dedicated vision of Mary C. Townsend to provide the most clearly written, comprehensive text for psychiatric mental health nursing. Follow an evidence-based, holistic approach to nursing practice that focuses on both biological and behavioral components. Thoroughly revised and updated, the 7th Edition adds a new emphasis on therapeutic communication and offers up-to-date coverage of Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiatives. Plus, a BONUS CD-ROM provides additional practice with an electronic workbook and NCLEX-style questions, including alternate-item format questions.
Quality and Safety in Nursing
Call Number: RT 85 .5 .Q24 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Quality and Safety in Nursing: A Competency Approach to Improving Outcomes is the first comprehensive text of its kind devoted to the nursing community's role in improving quality of care and patient safety. Edited by key members of the Quality and Safety Education for Nursing (QSEN) steering team, the book brings together information from various loci and expertly situates it within the continuum of nursing education and practice. Quality and Safety in Nursing is divided into four sections. The first section links the national initiative for quality and safety to its origins in the IOM report. Section two defines each of the six QSEN competencies in turn, provides instruction on acquiring the skills needed to achieve each competency, and constructs a framework for implementation. Section three further defines implementation strategies in formal education as well as transition into practice. The final section of the book looks toward the future of public policy and global initiatives in improving health care outcomes. A key resource for academics and clinicians alike, Quality and Safety in Nursing is an essential addition to the library of nurse leaders across the globe.
Call Number: RT 120 .R87 C66 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
The fourth edition of the only text to focus on nursing concepts, theory, and practice in rural settings continues to provide comprehensive and evidence-based information to nursing educators, researchers, and policy-makers. The book presents a wealth of new information that expands upon the rural nursing theory base and greatly adds to our understanding of current rural health care issues. It retains seminal chapters that consider theory and practice, client and cultural perspectives, response to illness, and community roles in sustaining good health. Authored by contributors from the United States, Canada, and Australia, the text examines rural health issues from a national and international perspective. The 4th edition presents new chapters on: Border health issues Palliative care Research applications of rural nursing theory Resilience in rural elders Vulnerabilities Health disparities Social disparities in health Use of rural hospitals in nursing education Establishing nursing education following disaster Public health accreditation in rural and frontier counties Developing the workforce to meet the needs for rural practice, research, and theory development Key Features: Provides a single-source reference on rural nursing concepts, theory, and practice Covers critical issues regarding nursing practice in sparsely populated regions Presents a national and international focus Updates content and includes a wealth of new information Designed for nurse educators and students at the graduate level
Teaching Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing
Call Number: RT 71 T335 2013 (Faculty Development)
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This AJN award-winning text is the only book to teach evidence-based practice (EBP) content grounded in a tested philosophy of teaching and learning. It provides the tools, perspective and context for health educators and practitioners to implement evidence-based care practices and evaluate their efficacy. Reflecting four years of successful experiences in helping academic agencies understand and implement EBP, this new edition has been reorganized to include updated information and five new chapters. It stresses the importance of mentorship in creating EBP and illustrates how mentorship can be designed and implemented to promote EBP. The text clarifies three principal values: How to integrate EBP into academic curricula How to implement an EBP model in clinical settings (for graduate, second career, and CE students) How to address teaching and learning strategies for specific user groups "Teaching Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing" will be of value to clinical and academic educators, educational and clinical administrators, unit managers, students attending CE programs, and students in nursing education graduate programs. Key Features: Revises and expands upon AJN Book of the Year Award first edition Reflects knowledge gained from four years of successful experiences in teaching and learning EBP since publication of first edition Provides comprehensive and innovative strategies for mentoring and teaching EBP in education and practice scenarios Describes how to implement EBP at undergraduate levels, for second career students, and in continuing education
Writing Health Communication
Call Number: R 119 .W75 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-31
Research has shown that information given to patients and materials designed to influence health behaviour often fail to achieve their aims. As a result, health professionals need proven strategies to ensure that information is selected, designed and presented appropriately for the target audience. In response, Writing for Health Communication provides a practical guide to designing health information, using evidence-based strategies to engage, inform and persuade different audiences. The book outlines the steps a writer needs to go through in creating successful materials. Starting with an understanding of how people read and process information and how behaviour is influenced, the book then covers the practicalities of " Choosing an approach " Message framing " Text design and layout " Using graphics " Computer tailoring Each chapter is illustrated with examples - including both good and bad practice and covering a range of health topics. For students and professionals in healthcare, health promotion, health education and public health, Writing for Health Communication is an invaluable guide to best practice.