This is the "Home" page of the "Physical Therapist Assistant" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
http://pinterest.com/MUHLibrary/

Physical Therapist Assistant  

This site will provide academic resources for students and faculty in the Physical Therapist Assistant program at Mercyhurst College.
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mercyhurst.edu/ptane Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are LibGuides?

LibGuides are collections of subject specific library resources.  Each LibGuide contains links to books, articles, websites, and other resources to assist you in your research. Check the the video below for more information:

Introduction to LibGuides Video



 

Current News

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Physical Therapist Assistant Department Faculty

Janice Haas-  Director of PTA Program & Assistant Professor    jhaas@mercyhurst.edu

Tricia Mahoney - Academic Coordinator of Clinical Education  

     & Assistant Professor   lmiller@mercyhurst.edu

Jo Anne Whaling- PTA Lab Assistant      jwhaling@mercyhurst.edu

 

      
     

    Welcome

    Physical therapy specializes in protecting and restoring function and mobility through the use of therapeutic exercise, functional training and patient education. 

    Physical Therapist Assistants work with individuals under the supervision/direction of a Physical Therapist to treat individuals using various therapy methods in order to promote healing and rehabilitation.

    Specific therapies include:

    Phototherapy

    Recreational Therapy

    Electrotherapeutics

    Thermotherapy

    Hydrotherapy

    Massage Therapy

    This guide is designed to help students and faculty access credible resources related to Physical Therapy.  Use the tabs above and to the right to find subject specific physical therapy resources.

    To find articles, click on the Articles tab.

    To find books, search our catalog; the Books tab of this page also lists several reference books that may be of use.

    To find web resources, click on the Websites tab.

    For help writing your bibliography, click on the How to Cite Sources tab.

    Check out the Career Guide's tab for help in writing your resume and job listing sites.

    If you have any suggestions on how to improve this page, please leave a comment below!

     

    African Americans,African descent,doctors,exercises,females,fitness,healthcare,legs,males,men,people,photographs,physical therapy,physicians,running shoes,sneakers,stretches,stretching,therapists,therapy,trainers,treatments,women

     

    Physical Therapy Books

    A few selected titles from the library collection.  For more specific titles/subjects use the "Books" tab at the top of the page.

    Cover Art
    Foundations of Physical Therapy: A 21st Century View of the Profession - Ronald W. Scott
    Call Number: RM700 .S375 2002
    ISBN: 0071355901
    xvii, 484 p. : ill.

    Cover Art
    Developing Cultural Competence in Physical Therapy Practice - Jill Black Lattanzi
    Call Number: RM705 .L38 2006
    ISBN: 0803611951
    xiv, 417 p. : ill., maps

    Cover Art
    Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals - Eric Shamus
    Call Number: RM713 .S74 2004
    ISBN: 0071400656
    255 p. : ill.

    Cover Art
    Handbook of Pediatric Physical Therapy - Toby Long
    Call Number: RJ53.P5 L66 2002
    ISBN: 0781727995
    xi, 299 p. : ill.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Robin Nyberg
     

    Chat With Me

     

    Physical Therapist Assistant Department

     

      ebooks from ebrary

    Check out ebrary's medical ebook collection:

    Search and browse our ebook collection!

     Highlight - Take notes - Create links - Automatic citations

       Watch the instructional video!

     

    RefWorks

    RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool that is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

    Get HELP Using RefWorks or

    Explore RefWorks now by clicking the logo below:

    Mercyhurst University | 501 East 38th Street, Erie, PA 16546 | (814) 824-2000
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip