This is the "Subscription Databases" page of the "Indexes and Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
http://pinterest.com/MUHLibrary/

Indexes and Databases  

Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mercyhurst.edu/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Subscription Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Alphabetical List of Subscription Databases

The following list of subscription databases are available to all current Mercyhurst University students, faculty, and staff. Off campus users may be asked to enter their Mercyhurst username and password before accessing the databases. Click here for more information on accessing resources off campus or contact the Electronic Resources Librarian for more information.

 

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

 

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine is an innovative online resource that provides students with access to more than 50 digital medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, hundreds of photos and illustrations, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently by world-renowned physicians and expanded continuously.  In order to make use of the mobile site, users need to register for a My AccessMedicine profile from any on-site computer.  Once they have done so, they will be able to log on to the mobile site using their My AccessMedicine username and password.

Academic Search Complete

Indexes over 8,200 journals in a broad range of academic disciplines. Full-text content is provided for over 4,600 of those journals, including over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.

American Chemical Society Web Editions

With over 40 publications now on the Web, ACS Web Editions have become the version of record among the scientific community. Take advantage of the many innovative and time saving features that ACS Web Editions have to offer.

American History in Video

American History in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of American history--2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. the collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study American history in ways never before possible.

Anthrosource

AnthroSource includes the current issues of 15 of the American Anthropological Society's most critical peer-reviewed publications as well as a searchable electronic archive of all AAA journals.


Berg Fashion Library

The first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. It offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources in this discipline including a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and extensive color image bank. It will be of use to anyone working in, researching, or studying fashion, anthropology, art history, history, museum studies, and cultural studies.

Business Source Company Profiles

This EBSCOhost database provides full-text Datamonitor profiles for companies in various industries all over the world.

Business Source Elite

Provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,650 business journals, magazines, and newspapers. Full-text is included for over 1,000 business journals and regional business publications.


CINAHL Complete

This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. Full text for more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.

CLIO Notes in America: History & Life

CLIO Notes in America: History & Life will guide you through subjects in United States history, by allowing you to browse through chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration

Credo Reference

Through Credo Reference you can search 3,366,954 full text entries in 648 reference books.  

Criminal Justice

Proquest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.


ebrary Academic Complete

A growing e-book collection spanning all academic subject areas. Search the entire collection of over 116,000 ebooks using the search box at the top left hand side of this site. OR..browse and search by specific subject areas by clicking on the subject links. Create your own bookshelf of books that you can highlight, store, share and link to other resources. Click HERE for help using ebrary.

EBSCOhost Web

This link allows you to search across multiple EBSCOhost databases at once. Included are Academic Search Elite, Business Source Elite, ERIC, PsycINFO, Health Source Nursing, Basic BIOSIS, SPORTDiscus, Medline, and the MLA International Bibliography.

eHRAF Collection: Archaeology

Produced by Yale's Human Relations Area Files, this is a cross-cultural database that includes nearly 60,000 pages of information on the world's prehistory. The database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

eHRAF World Cultures

Produced by Yale's Human Relations Area Files, this is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

Citations and abstracts from over 750 education journals and documents from the Education Resources Information Center dating back to 1967.


FORENSICnetBASE

Provides access to the full text of 479 titles in the fields of forensic analysis and criminal justice from CRC Press. Users can perform keyword searches across multiple titles or browse the contents of a single book.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.


GreenFILE

A research index focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.


Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Indexes over 620 journals in several medical disciplines, including the full-text of 580 of those publications.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete

Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 670,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 330 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.


JSTOR

JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content , including over eight hundred leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. We now offer 6 archival collections, along with current subscriptions to individual titles accessed through the JSTOR Scholarship Program’s platform for seamless access to the full run of the title.


Learning Express Library

LearningExpress Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages. These courses require Adobe Flash Player 8.0 or higher and you will need to REGISTER and login to use it.

LexisNexis Academic

Access to the full-text of major newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state statutes, court opinions, industry news, business financial information, SEC filings, and more.

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts

Indexes nearly 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings to anyone interested in libraries and information management. This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Literature Resources Center

A comprehensive literary resource, it provides single-search access to critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, literary reference works, and other resources, including the MLA International Bibliography.


Medline

MEDLINE® contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.  PubMed® provides free access to MEDLINE and links to full text articles when possible.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Mergent Online

Information on both public and private companies. U.S. Company Data provides a fully searchable database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items. The D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company Search allows you to specify a wide range of textual and financial criteria to search specifically in the 20 Million Plus Private Company Database.

Mergent Archives

Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. The database contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy to navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.

Military FullText

This database offers news pertaining to all branches of the military. It provides indexing and abstracting for over 430 titles and provides full-text for over 320.

MLA International Bibliography

The Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography provides searchable access to more than two million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites. It indexes materials from 1926 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world: Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North & South America.


Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online offering over 550,000 tracks of Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Students will find composer biographies, glossary of musical terms, work analyses, CD liner notes, and many other useful text resources. Five (5) users can be on this database at the same time, so PLEASE LOGOUT WHEN FINISHED so the next user can access this great selection of music!

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, including the New York Times and provides more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts. 

NYTimes.com/AcademicPass

NYTimes Academic Passes serve a pre-selected number of users per day.  Passes are claimed on a first-come-first-served basis, and each pass provides 24 hours of access for one user to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes apps.*  Users are able to claim passes from any location, on or off campus. Users qualify by having a valid Mercyhurst e-mail address.  Users activate a pass by visiting NYTimes.com/AcademicPass.   You must register the first time with your Mercyhurst email address!!  If you continually get a message that our passes have all been claimed, please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian.  


PrivCo

PrivCo is the premier source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Database

With more than 2.3 million entries, PQDT database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world. Graduate students consult the database to make sure their proposed thesis or dissertation topics have not already been written about. Students, faculty, and other researchers search it for titles related to their scholarly interests. Of the millions of graduate works listed, we offer over 1.9 million in full text format.

PsycArticles

Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.


Regional Business News

Provides full text coverage of 75 regional business journals, newspapers, and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.


Sage Premier Collection

Access to the content of over 500 peer-reviewed journals from 1999 to date, published by SAGE with coverage in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

ScienceDirect College Edition - Social & Behavioral Sciences

A full-text collection of over 350 journals in the social sciences, including psychology, business,management and education. Elsevier's ScienceDirect delivers trusted, peer-reviewed information not available elsewhere.

SciFinder Scholar

You must REGISTER first with your Mercyhurst University e-mail address. SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more! (This is not working off campus at this time. Please be patient!)

Scribner Writers Series

The Scribner Writers series, 'long the gold standard for literary criticism' according to the American Library Association's Reference & User Services Quarterly (Vol. 38, No. 1), includes some 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres drawn from thirteen acclaimed print sets. Each signed article was written by a noted scholar and concludes with a bibliography of primary and secondary sources for further study.

Serials Directory

Provides bibliographic, pricing, and subscription information for over 178,000 journals, magazines, and other periodical publications.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals.  With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature. 


Teacher Reference Center

An index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development,Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.

Twayne's Authors Series

Twayne’s Authors Series online features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series — United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors. Twayne’s Authors Series is devoted to literary critical interpretation and discussion. Each entry explores criticism with new insights and original points of view. This series spans the literary tradition through hundreds of years and illuminates the history and influence of literary movements and the development of literary genre.


UpToDate

UpToDate® is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 5,100 world-renowned physician authors, editors and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. More than 700,000 clinicians in 158 countries and almost 90% of academic medical centers in the United States rely on UpToDate to provide the best care. 


 

Women's Wear Daily (WWD)

WWD delivers information and intelligence on changing trends and breaking news for comprehensive coverage in the fashion, beauty and retail industries. Please note that a limited number of users are allowed to access this resource at the same time, so if you are unable to connect please try again later.

Mercyhurst University | 501 East 38th Street, Erie, PA 16546 | (814) 824-2000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip