This is the "Home" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
http://pinterest.com/MUHLibrary/

Music  

Last Updated: Dec 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mercyhurst.edu/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The D'Angelo Department of Music


 

The D'Angelo Department of Music offers 3 degree programs: Bachelor of Music in Performance; Bachelor of Music in Music Education; and Bachelor of Arts in Music. 

Applied study is offered in the areas of Brass, Composition, Guitar, Organ, Percussion, Piano, Strings, Voice and Woodwinds.

 

Welcome

 

This MUSIC guide is designed to aid in your research process.  

Return to the LibGuides Home to access more LibGuides, a complete list of Indexes & Databases, and Research Help.
To find articles, click on the Articles tab.
To find books, search our catalog or click on the Books, Scores and Sound Recordings tab.
To find web resources, click on the Websites tab.
For help writing your bibliography, click on the How to Cite Sources tab.
Check out the Career Guide's tab for help in writing your resume and job listing sites.

If you have any suggestions on how to improve this page, please leave a comment below!

 

Getting started

Hammermill Library offers several types of music materials. 

Reference books, which include dictionaries, encyclopedias and indexes are located on the 2nd floor (main level) of the library.  Library of Congress Classification for MUSIC is M (includes M, ML, and MT).

Books are located on the 3rd floor of the library.
Scores, including miniature scores, are located on the 2nd floor (main level) of the library. 
Sound recordings (CD) are kept behind the Circulation Desk on the 2nd floor (main level) of the library.  LPs (vinyl recordings) are housed on the wall near the music scores, also on the 2nd floor.  Please ask at desk for assistance.
Videorecordings (DVD and VHS) are also kept behind the Circulation Desk on the 2nd floor of the library.  Please ask at desk for assistance. 

 

 

NEW TITLES!

Check out our recent new titles about THE BEATLES!



Cover Art
Can't buy me love : the Beatles, Britain, and America - Jonathan Gould
Call Number: ML421.B4 G68 2007
A cultural and musical history of the 1960s in Britain and America captures the pulse of the era through the music of the Beatles, critically analyzing why the group became a trans-Atlantic phenomenon while discussing the evolution of the group's music.

Cover Art
The Beatles : all these years - Mark Lewisohn
Call Number: ML421.B4 L47 2013
Tune In is the first volume of a highly-anticipated, groundbreaking biographical trilogy by the world's leading Beatles historian. Mark Lewisohn uses his unprecedented archival access and hundreds of new interviews to construct the full story of the lives and work of John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, and Ringo Starr. Ten years in the making, Tune In takes the Beatles from before their childhoods through the final hour of 1962--when, with breakthrough success just days away, they stand on the cusp of a whole new kind of fame and celebrity. They've one hit record ("Love Me Do") behind them and the next ("Please Please Me") primed for release, their first album session is booked, and America is clear on the horizon. This is the lesser-known Beatles story--the pre-Fab years of Liverpool and Hamburg--and in many respects the most absorbing period of them all.



Cover Art
Meet the Beatles : a cultural history of the band that shook youth, gender, and the world - Steven D. Stark
Call Number: ML421.B4 S68 2005
The band that changed popular culture forever has become so shrouded in cultural mythology that it is difficult today to really understand how or why. Stark puts their impact into perspective by revealing both the personal details and the larger events, examining the ways in which the Beatles' own lives were inextricably tied to the cultural, youth, and gender revolutions they helped create and lead during the 1960s. Based on more than a hundred new interviews, this book offers a fresh interpretation of their story, beginning with their childhoods in England and the effect of the deaths of Paul's and John's mothers when they were young. It documents their special bond with women; the central importance of drugs, both for them and the counterculture they led; why their hairstyles set off a revolution; and the conditions that allowed these four to conquer America.

American Music Center


The AMC Online Library is a vast and comprehensive digital database that contains over 57,000 worksby more than 6,000 composers, and includes over 14,000 media samples (recordings and scores).

Librarian Liaison

Profile Image
Rebecca Crago Barwell
Contact Info
Office: 221 Hammermill Library
Phone: 824-3305
Send Email
 

D'Angelo Department of Music

Mercyhurst University | 501 East 38th Street, Erie, PA 16546 | (814) 824-2000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip