This is the "Home" page of the "RefWorks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
http://pinterest.com/MUHLibrary/

RefWorks  

A brief introduction to using ReWorks including creating an account, managing resources, exporting and importing sources, and more.
Last Updated: Jan 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mercyhurst.edu/refworks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Having trouble exporting EBSCO citations from Firefox or Safari?

If you are having trouble exporting from EBSCO files to RefWorks using Firefox or Safari you may see a message indicating that the certificate or website is untrusted.

For Firefox, you can choose to add an exception, which will allow the export to go through, or follow these steps:

1. Install a Certificate Authority by clicking on this link using Firefox: ipsCA Global CA Root CA

2. Firefox will automatically open the Certificate Authority

3.  You will be prompted on how to install the Certificate Authority, check the three Trust this CA options and click OK

For Safari, you will need to add an exception for the export to work properly

If you have any questions about this process or are still having trouble exporting EBSCO citations to RefWorks using Firefox or Safari, please contact the Systems and Teaching Librarian.

 

Creating an Individual Account

Creating a New Account

An individual account is required to use RefWorks.

  1. Go to the Mercyhurst University RefWorks page by clicking here.
  2. Click on Sign Up for a New Account.
  3. Enter the required information, including a Login Name and Password.*
  4. Click on Create Account.

RefWorks is free for Mercyhurst students, faculty, and staff and is provided for you by the Mercyhurst Libraries.

*Please note that Creating a New Account will give you an independent, personal account. While you may choose to use your Mercyhurst login and password for your RefWorks account please be aware that some login names may already be in use. For example, "jsmith" may be in use by another RefWorks user in which case you will need to further personalize your login (e.g. "jsmith10" or "jsmith_25").

 

Creating a Bibliography

When users export articles from indexes and databases owned by the Mercyhurst Libraries, the citations will appear in the Last Imported folder. Add records to other folders by checking them and using the icon (a folder with a green "plus" sign) in the navigation pane at the top.

To Create a Bibliography:

  1. Click on Create Bibliography near the top of your screen.
  2. Choose the style under the Output Style (e.g., APA – American Psychological Association, 5th Edition).
  3. Choose the format of the document (e.g., HTML, Word) using the dropdown menus under File Type.
  4. Choose the folder you want from the dropdown menus under References to Include.
  5. Click on Create Bibliography.

Write-N-Cite

Write-N-Cite allows users who meet the compatablility requirements  to run a smaller version of RefWorks while working in their word processor.

With Write-N-Cite you can:

  • Insert references into your paper with the click of a button
  • Edit citations within your paper
  • Create a bibliography quickly and easily

For more information on installing and using Write-N-Cite click here.


Still need help? Click here for more information on creating a bibliography.

 

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool that is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

With RefWorks you can:

  • Gather references automatically from article databases and indexes while you research
  • Insert formatted references into your paper in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.)
  • Format your footnotes and bibliographies
  • Create a personal research database online 
  • Store and organize references that are accessible from any computer linked to the Internet
  • Search a wide variety of article databases and import references
  • Share references with others
  • Download and use Write-N-Cite

 

Explore RefWorks now by clicking the logo below:

 

Adding References

Manually Adding References

  1. Click on New Reference near the top of your screen.
  2. (Optional) Select desired output style from View Fields Used By: drop down menu. Fields required for that citation style will be indicated with a checkmark.
  3. Select desired folder from the Add to Folder drop-down menu.
  4. Select appropriate reference type from the Ref Type drop-down menu.
  5. Enter the information from your reference in the appropriate fields.
  6. Click Save Reference.

Exporting and Importing Citations

Many databases can export citations directly into RefWorks while others require users to import the citation data. Likewise, users can import citation information from the Mercyhurst Library Catalog into RefWorks.

Check out Getting References from Databases and Getting References from the Catalog at the top of this page for detailed instructions.


Still need help? Click here for more information on adding references.

 

Organizing and Managing Data

Folders

Users can organize their data in RefWorks by creating and using folders. Data can be stored in multiple folders or in no folder. Your account comes with a Last Imported folder already set up, an area for Deleted References, and an area for references Not in a Folder.

To manage your folders, click on the Organize & Share Folders tab. From here you can view your folders and their content, create a subfolder, rename a folder, delete a folder, and clear the contents of a folder. You can create a new folder by clicking on New Folder near the top of your screen.

Editing Data

There a several ways you can edit single or multiple references in RefWorks. Editing can be done by clicking on the edit icon (a paper with a pencil) to the right of each reference. You can Globally Edit information such as author, descriptor, or periodical for your references by going to the References tab and clicking on the Global Edit icon (a globe with a pencil) in the navigation pane at the top.


Still need help? Click here for more information on managing and editing references.

Librarian Liaison

Profile Image
Rebecca Crago
Contact Info
Office: 300 Hammermill Library
Phone: 824-3305
Send Email

Guides and Tutorials

 

RefShare

RefShare allows users to share specific folders from their database with other users in their organization either individually or through the RefWorks Shared Area (open to all Mercyhurst RefWorks users).


Still need help? Click here for more information on sharing references.

Mercyhurst University | 501 East 38th Street, Erie, PA 16546 | (814) 824-2000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip