Top Ten Things to Know About the Ridge Library
10. The library uses Library of Congress call numbers (alpha/numeric) for its book collections.
9. Wireless access for your laptop is available throughout the library (Please see someone from the IT department to get started).
8. We have more than books at the library-electronic resources, dvd collection and a coffee bar area- all to help you with your studies.
7. Mercyhurst Colleges students have access to more than 50 databases for all your academic needs.
6. Students may check out books for 28 days and DVD's for 2 days with 1 renewal (if there are no outstanding holds on the item/s).
5. The Hammermill and Ridge Libraries participate in ILL (Inter Library Loan) systems so that students may borrow materials from other libraries.
4. The Hammermill and Ridge Libraries have more than 170,000 books, CDs, DVDs, journals and magazines for your use.
3. Members of the Mercyhurst College community can access the library's catalog and databases 24/7.
2. Librarians at both locations have created Libguides in several academic disciplines to further assist you with your studies.
1. Librarians are always available to assist you with your information needs. Just ask us!!
Study Skills Resources
- 8 Time Management Skills for College Students
- A Guide to Writing College Papers
- American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
- Assignment Research Calculator
- Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
- College Success Skills (Palomar College Library)
- Exam Prep: Your Finals Prep List
- Howtostudy.org
- Personal Time Management Guide
- Study Guides and Strategies
- Study Skills for College Students
- Time Management
- Time Management for College Students
- Tips for College Note Taking
- Writing Guides (University of Kansas)
Writing Research Papers
- Avoiding Plagiarism (Purdue- OWL Online Writing Lab)
- Biographical Dictionary
- Citing Sources- Duke University Libraries
- Dartmouth Writing Program-What is an Academic Paper?
- Grammar Girl
- IPL2Information you can trust. This site is a merger of the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians Internet Index.
- OWL- Purdue Online Writing Lab
- Research and Documentation Online- Diana Hacker
- The Elements of Style (Strunk)- Online Book
- The Writing Center-University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
- Tools for Evaluating Websites (Univ. of New Hampshire-Manchester)
- Writer's Web (University of Richmond)
- Writing Guides (Colorado State University)
Tips For Your Academic Success...
We want you to be successful during your time at Mercyhurst North East and after you graduate. Listed below are some academic survival tips that will help you become successful college students during your time at Mercyhurst North East and with your future studies.
1. Visit Your Advisor Frequently- Take the time to meet with your academic advisor on a regular basis and develop an on-going relationship. This relationship can be beneficial in many ways. You will better understand the academic expectations at MNE and your advisor will get to know you as a person so that they will better understand your academic needs. You should also make use of Academic Support Services. They can arrange tutoring for subject areas you may find to be a little challenging.
2. Manage Your Schedule
3. Get to Know Your Instructors/Professors
4. Determine Your Individual Learning Style
5. Attend Your Classes
6. Use the Library-As Mercyhurst students you have access to two libraries-the Ridge Library at the North East campus and the Hammermill Library located at the Erie campus. Both libraries provide the academic materials and resources you need to be successful students.
7. Utilize Your Instructors/Professors Office Hours
8. Understand the Importance of the Student/Advisor Relationship
9. Recognize When to Get Help
10. Know the Value of a Tutor
11. How Professors Can Help You
Handouts
Use these handouts/guides from the University of Guelph Library for tips and assistance with Effective Learning Strategies, Time Management, Exam Preparation, Working in Groups, and Academic Presentations.
Ridge Library Resources (Books in Your Library)
What are LibGuides?
LibGuides are collections of subject specific library resources. Each LibGuide contains links to books, articles, websites, and other resources to assist you in your research. Check the the video below for more information:
Introduction to LibGuides Video
Student Support Services
Your College Success
- Study Skills From the Pros...(Austin Community College)Learn tips from college instructors about how to be successful in your classes.
- 3 Secrets to College Success (Austin Community College)
Your College Experience
Loading...


Loading...
